Brutal Beautiful Honesty

Run away from me, baby, run away
Run away from me, baby, run away
It’s about to get crazy, why can’t she just, run away?
Baby, I got a plan, run away fast as you can
Kanye West, Runaway

‎As we learn to have compassion for ourselves, the circle of compassion for others –what and whom we can work with, and how — becomes wider.
Pema Chodron, When Things Fall Apart

Today I did four really difficult things.

I let myself see and acknowledge that I had been acting selfishly, and that I was not being who I want to be.  

I forgave myself.   

I admitted to the person involved that I was acting selfishly.  

I expressed a deep and unconditional love for that person. 

Right now, I feel at peace and also very vulnerable.   In retrospect, it amazes me how I managed to avoid seeing how I was acting before.  There is so much about ourselves that we don’t want to admit because we are not ready yet to grow.

Or maybe it is not that crazy.  Until we are ready to face up to ourselves, there are many ways to avoid inner honesty.  Maybe some of these sound familiar to you.  You can project your problems onto the other person (“If only they would . . . “)  You can fall into self-pity (“I am a bad person.”)  You can lie to yourself about who you are and your motivations.  (“I am the nice person.”)  You can pretend that you do not know what you are doing.  (“Why does this always happen to me.”)  You can stay shallow and cut your feelings and intuition short with distractions.  (Friends, TV, alcohol, books, gym, rinse, repeat.)

I have done many of these things.  And I am sure that I will do them again in my life.  But gradually, I am learning to practice honesty.  I am committing to watching myself and how I act.  I am trying to communicate with people in a genuine fashion, and owning up to things I do.

Being honest does not mean that I have any idea what to do about my imperfections.  Real honesty goes beyond a one-time, “I am sorry that will never happen again,” type thing.  It means that I am willing to dig deep and admit my deepest motivations and engrained patterns, the stuff I really do not want anyone to see.  Sometimes there are no solutions to being human.

That’s why I love Kanye’s song Runaway . . . it is so brutally candid.  He offers himself as he is.  He gets it, he sees himself, and he is willing to own up to it.  He has no answers.

But the funny thing is that at the end of the song, after he admits to being a workaholic asshole who is afraid of intimacy, he naturally shifts into a different place.  He is finally able to admit to this girl that he is singing to that he does not know what he will do without her if she leaves.  When he lets himself be vulnerable and real about who he is, he can open his heart to love.  I always feel closer to him as an artist and person after I listen to that song.

I felt that opening today too.  Once I cleared the way by owning up to my actions, and forgiving myself, I felt this deep love well up and pour out of me.  It was really beautiful to feel and express.  I am learning that true intimacy–with family, friends, lovers–requires owning up, again and again, to who we are, and letting that be okay.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Brutal Beautiful Honesty

  1. Jane says:

    this is superb and you helping me find my way here by YOUR comment on my blog is definitely not “by chance”….I SOOOOOO needed to read this at this moment in my life….been praying for clarity on a difficult relationship issue, not knowing where it would come from, and here it is: “It means that I am willing to dig deep and admit my deepest motivations and engrained patterns, the stuff I really do not want anyone to see. ” Powerful stuff. But something we need to always be honest about-and of course, it is not easy by any stretch of the imagination. Do hope it works out that we meet up in India this year.
    with love light and JOY

  2. Karyn says:

    You totally nailed it, again, Nicole! I’m at this very same point in my life journey. It’s scary and amazing. I find such comfort and strength in knowing that you’re out there…doin’ it too 🙂 xo

  3. Brilliantly quoted Kanye…

  4. Rocky says:

    That’s the truth! They have to match up with those alphas! That’s one thing I’ve realized in writing alphas, that if the heroine do&n#es8217;t have that core grit is really when they either come off as bullies, or, for me especially, I can’t make them strong enough because the strength seems mean when it’s running someone over!

Leave a Reply

