I Knew You When

I knew you when
The air was still
When Red met Purple
When the glow of the sun
Melted comfortably
Into the dusk of the night
When you were your fullest self
And you let me love you
The way a bird accepts the breeze

Now we meet again
My battered friend
I try and tell you that
Your arm is gone
But you are unperturbed
Or maybe just unaware
That the last time I saw you
You had wings
God damn wings

I catch myself confusing you
with who I know you to be
I yell at you.

Because you can’t fly
Because you don’t remember me
Because my leg is gone
Because I too am bound

I remind myself that
There is a reason why
You have one arm
And I have a limp
We have chosen these wounds
To walk this ground
And meet ourselves again

So I will keep my memories
In the bright space
Behind my eyes
Where you can find them
Where they flash
Like a Brilliant stone
Catching the light

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “I Knew You When

  1. Teary eyed, I love this.

  2. Reblogged this on Surrender Tree and commented:
    Reading Truth is like looking into the sun. This poem makes my heart surrender to the Love.

  3. Jane says:

    Just to let you know I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award, with thanks for bringing me so much joy with your blog. You can find the details about how to proceed with accepting it (if you choose to) at this link: http://janesindiajournals.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/with-joy-and-gratitude-one-lovely-blog-award/
    with love light and JOY

Leave a Reply

